Property Tax Payment Options


Convenience Fees for Online Payments

  • E-check Payments: $1.50 per transaction.
  • Debit Card Payments: 1.5% of the tax amount, with a minimum charge of $1.95.
  • Credit Card Payments: 2.35% of the tax amount, with a minimum charge of $1.95.

By Mail

Mail your Property Tax payment directly to us. Your payment must be postmarked on or before the due date or penalties will apply. Checks should be made payable to the Watonwan County Treasurer. If your tax payment is past due, please contact the Treasurer to determine the amount of penalty you must include with your payment. Our mailing address is:
Watonwan County Treasurer
710 Second Avenue S
P.O. Box 518
St. James, MN 56081

Payment Drop Box

For your convenience, a payment drop box is located in the main parking lot of the courthouse by the front entrance sidewalk.

In person

Property taxes can be paid by check or cash at the treasurer’s office, located at:
Watonwan County Courthouse
710 Second Avenue S
P.O. Box 518
St. James, MN 56081

Office Hours

The office hours are Monday through Friday, 8:30 am to 4:30 pm. For further information about paying property taxes in person, please call the treasurer’s office at 507-375-1213.


Your taxes may be included in your mortgage payment. Your lending institution may be escrowing your taxes for you. This means that you are paying a portion of your property tax in every mortgage payment you make to them. Your tax money is being kept in a special escrow account. The escrow agent at your mortgage company is responsible for paying your property taxes by the due date. If you aren’t certain if your property taxes are escrowed, contact your mortgage company or lending institution.