County Board of Commissioners


The Watonwan County Board is comprised of five elected Commissioners. The county is divided into five geographical areas called Commissioner's Districts. Each district elects one of its residents to serve as its representative on the County Board of Commissioners for a term of four years. County boards are a combination of legislative and executive bodies.

They have the responsibility for the overall operation of the county. The Watonwan County Board meets at least twice a month to conduct county business, and once a month as the Human Services Board.


They are responsible for the following:

  • Appoint all non-elected department heads
  • Approve county expenditures
  • Maintain a county highway system
  • Maintain all county facilities
  • Maintain county ditches
  • Provide facilities and needs of all departments
  • Set the county tax levy and budget each year

In addition, the commissioners represent the county on various committee assignments, such as Extension, Region Nine Development Commission, Minnesota Valley Action Council, and others.