Soil & Water Conservation District


Our mission is to assist the people of Watonwan County in the wise management of the quality and quantity of ground and surface water, the wise management of wind and water erosion areas, and to educate landowners to recognize the need for proper soil and water resource management.


In May 1952, a group of farmers met in LaSalle and started action toward the formation of a Soil Conservation District. Petitions were circulated in all townships in Watonwan County and in Albin, Lake Hanska, and Linden townships in Brown County.

After a public hearing a referendum was held with 184 farmers voting in favor of a proposed district and 12 voting against. An application was made to the Secretary of State and the Watonwan Soil Conservation District came into being. The first meeting of the district was held on May 25, 1954.

Board of Supervisors Meeting

SWCD Board meetings are held the 3rd Monday of each month. If a holiday falls on that day meetings are moved to the 3rd Tuesday.

Meetings are held at the Watonwan County Resource Center at 8:30 AM.
Address: 108 8th Street S, St. James, MN 56081

  1. David Haler 2021

    David Haler

    Land Management Director

  2. Physical Address
    108 8th Street
    Suite 2
    St. James, MN 56081


    Fax: 507-375-1260


    Monday through Friday

    8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.